Commercial Driver License (CDL) Laws of Wisconsin

Roehl CDL Training in Wisconsin

According to the U.S. Department of Labor, increased industrialization and inter-connectedness in the economy and society have led to a spike in demand for commercial drivers. The work and pay conditions of this profession have thus improved and today, there are more people aspiring to earn a covetedcommercial driver license (CDL). The laws governing the CDL regarding eligibility and the criteria to be fulfilled to bag one, vary across states. The following are the commercial driver license (CDL) laws of Wisconsin, as mandated by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation:

• As per the commercial driver license (CDL) laws of Wisconsin, only one license will be allotted to a driver. The applicant must possess a driver’s license for at least a year before he can apply for a CDL in Wisconsin.

• A driver in Wisconsin must apply for a CDL if he wants to drive vehicles that weigh over 26,000 pounds, will transport hazardous materials that must carry placards as per federal laws, and are meant to carry 16 or more people.

• The state of Wisconsin has a classified licensing system for different types of vehicles. As per thecommercial driver license (CDL) laws of Wisconsin, Class A includes those combinations of vehicles whose Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR), actual or registered weight is over 26,000 pounds and that of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. Class B includes all single vehicles that fulfill the weight-related criteria of Class A licenses. The Class C licenses are meant for single vehicles weighing 26,000 pounds or less, those that will carry hazardous materials that require placards, and/or will transport 16 or more passengers. The classes D and M are reserved for light trucks and mopeds, and motorcycles respectively.

• According to the commercial driver license (CDL) laws of Wisconsin, a CDL-applicant must be at least 18 years of age to be able to drive a commercial vehicle within the bounds of the state and at least 21 years old to be eligible to drive across state boundaries.

• As per the commercial driver license (CDL) laws of Wisconsin, to earn the license, a driver must sit for a written examination and then take an on-road driving test on that vehicle that maps to the class of license he has applied for.

• The commercial driver license (CDL) laws of Wisconsin make it mandatory that drivers, who apply for a HAZMAT endorsement, must agree to a background check that also includes fingerprinting.

Now that you are aware of the commercial driver license (CDL) laws of Wisconsin, it is a good idea to enroll at a reputable commercial driver training school where you can learn the skills, tips, and tricks to earn a CDL. We, at CDL License, have stocked up on a list of reputable driving schools in Wisconsin. Call us at 1-800-878-2537 to know more.

Apply for Wisconsin CDL Training

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply