Steps to Apply for Commercial Driver’s Permit in Sacramento, CA
1. Take CDL training courses at our Sacramento, California truck driving school, if you have not already done so. Classes only take a few weeks to complete, so don’t hesitate and get started today!
2. Complete the California Commercial Driver License Application (Form DL 44C). Must be original, copies are NOT accepted.
3. Complete the 10 Year History Record Check (Form DL 939) if issued a driver license in the same or different name within the previous 10 years.
4. Give thumb print.
5. Have picture taken.
6. Verify your social security number with a Social Security Card (cannot be laminated), Medicare card, U.S. Armed Forces ID, or Military separation document.
7. Verify birth date and legal presence with one of the following:
a. U.S. Birth Certificate (including Birth Abroad and U.S. Territory)
b. U.S. Passport or Passport Card
c. U.S. Military IDs
See more valid verification documents here.
8. Pay application fee for a 5 year license, from $34-$66 depending on the following criteria:
a. Original license, with or without a driving test (currently NOT holding a CA driver license) = $66
b. Upgrade your current CA driver license, remove a restriction requiring a driving test, and/or add passenger endorsement = $64
c. Add endorsement not requiring a driving test, add noncommercial Class A to Commercial Class B, and/or add motorcycle endorsement = $34
9. Pass the vision exam. Drivers must have 20/40 vision with both eyes and each eye individually. Corrective lenses are acceptable.
10. Submit Medical Examination Report (Form DL 51) that has been revised during the year of application.
11. Pass traffic law test. You are allowed 3 chances.
Once you have completed all of the above steps, you will be issued a Commercial Driver PERMIT. This means you can only drive a Class A or Class B vehicle with a person who has a valid California driver license in that class and is of required age.
Steps to Apply for California Commercial Driver License (CDL)
1. Make an appointment with your local DMV by phone.
2. Bring the type of vehicle for the class you want to drive.
3. Pass a pre-trip inspection test. You are allowed 3 chances.
4. Pass a skills and driving test. You are allowed 3 chances.
Submit a Certificate of Driving Skill (Form DL 170)